Skip links

Bahrain Anniversary

The Bahrain International Circuit is celebrating a milestone birthday. And we are directly involved in it, because on March 17, 2004, shortly after its completion, the track was inaugurated by Formula 1.

Since then, Bahrain has been a constant in a race calendar characterized by constant changes. Accordingly, it is fitting that Bahrain once again hosts the important first race of the season this year.

To celebrate appropriately, here are some historical facts to match:


  • Pioneering Achievement: The Bahrain International Circuit was the first F1 racetrack in the Middle East, paving the way for many tracks that followed in the region.
  • Pioneering Achievement #2: The BIC was the world’s first racetrack to be equipped with floodlights to enable night races.
  • Legend: The first winner in the inaugural race in 2004 was Michael Schumacher.
  • Evergreen: One of the most successful drivers in Bahrain is Fernando Alonso, who has won there three times (2005, 2006 & 2010) – and who is still active this year.
  • Versatility: In 2020, Bahrain even hosted two F1 races, featuring not only the standard layout but also the Sakhir configuration.

Apart from Formula 1, Bahrain has also hosted numerous other racing series, such as Formula 2, Formula 3, FIA GT, and WEC. Despite the unique conditions posed by the surrounding desert and sand, Bahrain looks back on 20 successful years full of excitement and highlights, and together with our partners, we are committed to keeping it that way!

In this context: The Bahrain International Circuit has also committed to becoming carbon-neutral by 2030 – a goal we fully share to lead motorsport into a sustainable future.

We thank all our partners for two great decades and look forward to continuing our journey together!

For further details & information about the track, click here.

Return to top of page