Skip links

AUTÓDROMO HERMANOS RODRÍGUEZ

After a few cosmetic renovations the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez doesn’t …

AUTÓDROMO HERMANOS RODRÍGUEZ
MEXICO CITY, MEXICO

Today the track is 4.3 kilometers long and in some sectors it can be driven through with a maximum speed of 366 km/h.

The Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, named after two of the most famous Mexican racing drivers, Ricardo and Pedro Rodríguez, has been the most important race track in Mexico for more than 50 years. As part of a large sports complex in the southeast of the capital, it has been the scene of many racing categories, from Formula 1 to drag racing.
In the 1960s, the first Grand Prix races were held on an original five-kilometer track. In the 1970s, the circuit was removed from the Formula 1 racing calendar for safety reasons. It was still used for national races. In 1986, Formula 1 returned to the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez after the circuit buildings were modernized and the track was adapted to the safety regulations of the time. Until 1991 the Grand Prix of Mexico was held here every year, before Formula 1 decided to include new race tracks in its calendar, especially in the Far East.
It was only with the success of the new Mexican racing stars Sergio Pérez and Esteban Gutiérrez that Tilke’s office decided to modernize the circuit. In order to bring the circuit up to modern F1 standards, extensive renovations were required, which included significant changes to the course of the circuit. In spite of a new alignment of the track and extensions through new curve sequences, the circuit still shows the original race track in its basic features. The highlight of the laps is the revised curve sequence that leads through the Foro Sol stadium and forms one of the most exciting sections of the track. As part of the rebuilding work, the entire track was re-asphalted and new paddock buildings and grandstands were built. The changes were made in stages to allow the continuation of other racing activities. The entire complex was completed by August 2015.

Total area

42 ha

Track length

4.3 km

Top speed (F1)

366 km/h

Project status

Completed in 2015

Return to top of page

Skip links

AUTÓDROMO HERMANOS RODRÍGUEZ

Das Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguez hat nach einigen kosmetischen…

AUTÓDROMO HERMANOS RODRÍGUEZ
MEXIKO-STADT, MEXIKO

Die Strecke ist heute 4,3 Kilometer lang und kann in einigen Sektoren mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 366 km/h durchfahren werden.

Das Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, benannt nach zwei der berühmtesten mexikanischen Rennfahrer, Ricardo und Pedro Rodríguez, ist seit mehr als 50 Jahren die wichtigste Rennstrecke Mexikos. Als Teil eines großen Sportkomplexes im Südosten der Hauptstadt, war es Schauplatz vieler Rennkategorien, von der Formel 1 bis hin zu Dragsterrennen.
In den 1960er Jahren fanden die ersten Grand Prix Rennen auf einer ursprünglichen Strecke von fünf Kilometern statt. In den 1970er Jahren wurde der Circuit aus Sicherheitsgründen aus dem Rennkalender der Formel 1 gestrichen. Er wurde weiterhin für nationale Rennen genutzt. 1986 kehrte die Formel 1 wieder auf das Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez zurück, nachdem die Rennstreckengebäude modernisiert und die Strecke an die damaligen Sicherheitsvorschriften angepasst worden waren. Bis 1991 fand hier jährlich der Große Preis von Mexiko statt, bevor die Formel 1 entschied stattdessen neue Rennstrecken insbesondere im fernen Osten in den Rennkalender aufzunehmen.
Erst mit dem Erfolg der neuen mexikanischen Rennsport-Stars Sergio Pérez und Esteban Gutiérrez wurde eine Modernisierung der Rennstrecke durch das Büro Tilke veranlasst. Um den Circuit auf moderne F1-Standards zu bringen, bedurfte es umfassender Erneuerungen, die deutliche Änderungen an dem Rennstreckenverlauf beinhalteten. Trotz einer Neuausrichtung der Strecke und Erweiterungen durch neue Kurvenabfolgen lässt der Circuit auch heute noch die ursprüngliche Rennstrecke in den Grundzügen erkennen. Highlight der Runden ist die überarbeitete Kurvenabfolge die durch das Foro-Sol-Stadion führt und einen der spannendsten Streckenabschnitte bildet. Im Rahmen der Umbauten wurde die gesamte Strecke neu asphaltiert und neue Paddockgebäude und Tribünen errichtet. Die Änderungen wurden stufenweise vorgenommen, um die Fortsetzung anderer Rennaktivitäten zu ermöglichen. Der gesamte Komplex wurde bis August 2015 fertig gestellt.

Gesamtareal

42 ha

Streckenlänge

4,3 km

Höchstgeschwindigkeit (F1)

366 km/h

Projektstatus

Fertigstellung 2015

Return to top of page