Skip links

Intercity Istanbul Park

INTERCITY ISTANBUL PARK
ISTANBUL, TURKEY

Formula 1 returns back to istanbul park

The Formula 1 race track “Istanbul Park”, which was completed in 2005, is located on the Asian side about 80 kilometers east of Istanbul’s old town. The 5.338-kilometer circuit has a total of 14 corners and offers a varied range of hills. This topographical potential was used to develop a demanding race track with many highlights for drivers and spectators. Characteristic for the circuit are the frequent left-right curve combinations: The stringing together of several alternately aligned curves to form a coherent combination with up to five vertices guarantees a challenging driving experience. The curves can be driven through at a high speed of up to 200 km/h. The track’s top speed of 326 km/h is reached on a long straight between turns 11 and 12.
From 2005 to 2011, the Istanbul Park Racetrack was an integral part of the Formula 1 racing calendar. Since then it has been used for several touring car races, MotoGP races, the FIA World Rallycross Championships and in 2013 for the World Superbikes. On November 15, 2020, the circuit will host the Formula 1 Turkish Grand Prix for the first time since 2005.
The 2.1 square kilometer race track area has a spectator capacity of up to 155,000 visitors. The main grandstand located opposite the pit building has 25,000 covered seats. The VIP towers at both ends of the pit lane can accommodate an additional 5,000 spectators. These seats are connected to the VIP area. The remaining 125,000 spectators can be seated on temporarily erected grandstands around the track.

Track length

5.338 KM

Project status

Completed in 2005

Return to top of page

Skip links

Intercity Istanbuld Park

INTERCITY ISTANBUL PARK
ISTANBUL, TÜRKEI

Die Formel 1 kehrt zurück in den Intercity Istanbul Park

Die 2005 fertiggestellte Formel 1 – Rennstrecke „Istanbul Park“ liegt auf asiatischer Seite etwa 80 Kilometer östlich von Istanbuls Altstadt. Der 5,338 Kilometer lange Circuit umfasst insgesamt 14 Kurven und verfügt über ein abwechslungsreiches Höhenspiel. Dieses topographische Potenzial wurde genutzt um eine anspruchsvollen Rennstrecke mit vielen Highlights für Fahrer und Zuschauer zu entwickeln. Charakteristisch für die Rennstrecke sind die häufigen Links-Rechts-Kurvenkombinationen: Die Aneinanderreihung mehrerer wechselseitig ausgerichteter Kurven zu einer zusammenhängenden Kombination mit bis zu fünf Scheitelpunkten, garantiert ein herausforderndes Fahrerlebnis. Die Kurven können mit einer hohen Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 200 km/h durchfahren werden. Die Streckenhöchstgeschwindigkeit von 326 km/h wird auf einer langen Grade zwischen Turn 11 und 12 erreicht.
Von 2005 bis 2011 war der Istanbul Park Racetrack fester Bestandteil des Formel 1 Rennkalenders. Seitdem wurde er für mehrere Tourenwagenrennen, MotoGP Rennen, die FIA World Rallycross Championships und im Jahr 2013 für die World Superbikes genutzt. Am 15. November 2020 wird der Circuit erstmals seit 2005 wieder Schauplatz des Formel 1 Grand Prix der Türkei.
Das insgesamt 2,1 Quadratkilometer große Rennstreckengebiet verfügt über eine Zuschauerkapazität von bis zu 155.000 Besuchern. Die sich gegenüber des Boxengebäudes befindende Haupttribüne verfügt über 25.000 überdachte Sitzplätze. In den VIP Türmen an beiden Enden der Boxengasse finden weitere 5.000 Zuschauer Platz. Diese Sitzplätze haben Anschluss an den bewirteten VIP Bereich. Die restlichen 125.000 Besucher finden auf temporär errichteten Tribünen rund um die Strecke Platz.

Streckenlänge

5,338 KM

Projektstatus

Fertigstellung 2005

Return to top of page